21 days of fasting and praying

My church began the New year with corporate fasting and praying. I think it is an excellent way to motivate the members to seek the Lord more. It has been difficult for me to do this on my own but with motivation I am able to do it.

I decided to go off social media like Facebook, Pinterest etc, browsing  unless really needed. I will be blogging only my 21 days of fasting and prayer during this time to keep from distractions. I am also fasting from one meal a day and this, in as much as it is uncomfortable for me, reminds me of my fast. My goal for this season is to know Jesus in a deeper measure and grow closer to Him.

Day 1:

The first part of my first day of  praying seemed to going nowhere for I felt my soul was dry. During this time, the song ‘My soul longs for you’ by Misty Edwards sparked something in me. I realized my soul was parched and needed the rain to come and soak me up and asked the Lord for the rain. The Lord is faithful and hears our innermost cry. I started feeling the showers but I am sure, I will be flooded by the end of this season.

Today, the Lord showed me His life of prayer – Matthew 4:1, Mark 1:35, Luke 5:16, Luke 6:12 are some of the scriptures which speak about Jesus praying. The revelations I got from these verses were:

  • Jesus went to a solitary place to pray often. He prayed before going out and making major decision – choosing his disciples.  – Luke 6:12
  • He intentionally set apart time to pray. – Luke 5:15,16
  • He defeated Satan’s tempting after fasting and praying for 40 days and nights. – Matthew 4: 1 -11
  • Jesus prayed before His ministry began. – Matthew 4
  • When Jesus was overwhelmed with sorrow, he prayed. – Mark 14:32-39

There are many more things I realized in today’s bible reading which will make this posting too long, so will skip those here, for now.

What do these revelations tell me personally?

If Jesus being God Himself in flesh took time off and chose a place to pray in solitude, how much more do I need to it? I need to lead a life of prayer like Jesus, deliberately setting aside a time and place to commune with Him, to follow in His footsteps and walk in a close relationship with Jesus.

Prayer needs to come before/during:

  • Making decisions
  • Ministering in any form even it is doing prophetic arts.
  • In times of trouble and distress to gain strength to go through it,
  • temptation to defeat the enemy.
    Probably the list will go on, but for now, focusing on these will go a long way. 
About anointedartist

I am a free-spirited person who enjoys the little things in life as much as the big ones that cross my path. As wife and mother of two wonderful kids, I have learned to take into stride the joys and pains of nurturing my family with laughter and tears. From being a stay-at-home mom for a long time, I have now extended my arms into the community to envelope kids with special needs and work with them. My soul takes delight in creating pieces of art in the form of pottery, card-making, crafting, knitting, crocheting, and list goes on. My long-standing wish to learn pottery-making took form and I have made quite a few interesting projects and love them. I also do prophetic arts (painting) along with my husband at our church during worship now and then and enjoy it. I believe that most of my inspirations come for my Creator and I am just being instrumental in revealing it to others. I feel honored to be used as His anointed vessel to display the creativity He has invested in me.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

