Are those monkeys howling?

View from our balcony

Our stay at the resort Iberostar at Playa Del Carmen, Mexico was something. We took this particular room that overlooked the jungle themed landscaping, so we could see the howler monkeys swinging by the balconies. We got up most mornings to the deep, loud howling of these monkeys. They are aptly named as howlers, as their howls could be heard from a long distance. The males were much bigger and howled deeper than the female ones.

Each morning, these monkeys would howl and make their way to the temptations awaiting them in the resort guests’ balconies. Guests could be seen sitting excitedly yet patiently waiting with fruits laid out on their balcony tables very early in the morning. It was amusing not only to see the howler monkeys but to see all us humans acting this way. These howlers could be intimidating with their howls but they didn’t seem aggressive in their interaction with us probably because they were used to be treated to bananas, apples, and grapes each morning.

Howler Monkey

This guy among many others honored us with his visit at our balcony. Look at him enjoy his breakfast!! I’ve seen monkeys eat, but have never seen such messy eaters like the howlers.

If ever you do visit this place and choose to feed these guys, do so at your own risk, as I am not sure if it is advisable.

About anointedartist

I am a free-spirited person who enjoys the little things in life as much as the big ones that cross my path. As wife and mother of two wonderful kids, I have learned to take into stride the joys and pains of nurturing my family with laughter and tears. From being a stay-at-home mom for a long time, I have now extended my arms into the community to envelope kids with special needs and work with them. My soul takes delight in creating pieces of art in the form of pottery, card-making, crafting, knitting, crocheting, and list goes on. My long-standing wish to learn pottery-making took form and I have made quite a few interesting projects and love them. I also do prophetic arts (painting) along with my husband at our church during worship now and then and enjoy it. I believe that most of my inspirations come for my Creator and I am just being instrumental in revealing it to others. I feel honored to be used as His anointed vessel to display the creativity He has invested in me.
This entry was posted in Mexico and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are those monkeys howling?

  1. Deepak says:

    Nice

    Like

Leave a Reply

