What’s all the buzz about?

After our awesome tour of the Butterfly Garden at the Selvatura Park at MonteVerde, Costa Rica, we walked over to the guided tour of the Insect Museum. The thought of being amidst a collection of once alive insects, might send an unpleasant feeling through your system, but if you will set that aside and walk into this museum, you will be fascinated as I was.

shiny beetlesYou don’t have to be an entomologist to study the decent range of insects here. Omg, the collection was just out of this world…..such an orderly display of exquisite insects in every imaginable color, shape, and design from different parts of the world.

Maybe some of you already know this, but it was here I learned about scarab beetles and their relationship to an ancient civilization.

These were a very important, sacred symbol of Ancient Egyptians, and amulets or good luck charms in the form of scarab beetles were worn by both Pharaohs and  by the common man.

Ok, what’s this, I thought we were done with butterflies!! Now, we have more of them but this time instead of floating around, they were silently reflecting their beauty off the walls of the museum, even after life had passed on.

Butterfly_Museum_Collage

The infinite wonders of nature, big and small, never fails to blow me away. I am always awestruck with how living things camouflage in their surrounding. Imagine, going hiking in the wild, and you pick up a twig and suddenly, it starts twitching in your hand. Is it your imagination or is it for real? What would you reaction be in the split of a second, when you realize it is a stick insect? That would make for a nice candid picture!! Now, check these out, are these dried leaves or camouflaging moths?

Moth

As I was walking around the museum , I suddenly felt sorry for all these creatures. How do you justify killing of these stunning little arthropods?

Read the museum’s notice on the right. Probably the entomologist was right, if not, how would we even know there was a whole different world of small creepy crawlies?

We won’t argue the right and wrong about the concept of insect museums, but hope you have been inspired to stop and observe nature more closely. And for now, I will take a break and see you in my next post on the thrillers at Selvatura Park.

Pura Vida!!

About anointedartist

I am a free-spirited person who enjoys the little things in life as much as the big ones that cross my path. As wife and mother of two wonderful kids, I have learned to take into stride the joys and pains of nurturing my family with laughter and tears. From being a stay-at-home mom for a long time, I have now extended my arms into the community to envelope kids with special needs and work with them. My soul takes delight in creating pieces of art in the form of pottery, card-making, crafting, knitting, crocheting, and list goes on. My long-standing wish to learn pottery-making took form and I have made quite a few interesting projects and love them. I also do prophetic arts (painting) along with my husband at our church during worship now and then and enjoy it. I believe that most of my inspirations come for my Creator and I am just being instrumental in revealing it to others. I feel honored to be used as His anointed vessel to display the creativity He has invested in me.
This entry was posted in MonteVerde and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

