Going Green via Creative Encroachment!

Bangalore, known as the ‘Garden City of India’, is now unofficially called the Concrete Jungle. The once beautiful city attributed to its lovely greenery has lost its former glory to the ever rising growth of real estates, IT industries and a constant construction of flyovers.

extended gardenHowever, one thing I noticed walking through the neighborhoods of Bangalore is that the love for gardening is still alive in the hearts of Bangaloreans. Every house, big and small, has plants growing in containers grouped together or growing in a small patch of soil. But for some garden lovers, that’s definitely not satisfying.

Gardening beyond your boundaries is not good enough, how about some personal touch? What’s a garden without a shady, peaceful, sitting area? That’s what this resident decided to do – added an inexpensive bench under a shady tree. This reminded me of ancient times I read in history books, when King Ashoka had fruit and shade trees planted and wells dug along the roads for weary travelers. I wonder if this owner will mind if  a tired passerby stopped to take advantage of this respite by the street. Would he be shooed away or offered a glass of cold water on a hot day and will a little ‘what’s the news around town‘ take place?

A makeshift garden bench. No end to creative occupation of space.

A makeshift garden bench. No end to creative occupation of space.

The already narrow streets though looks a little green, is chaotic with bikes, cars and gardens, fighting to share space with pedestrians. No one seems to mind  having to maneuver around this intrusion. This creative encroachment is taken for granted and no eyebrow is raised by this unauthorized ownership.

All said and done, I couldn’t but help being amused every time I had to make my way around extended gardens in the neighborhoods of Bangalore.

About anointedartist

I am a free-spirited person who enjoys the little things in life as much as the big ones that cross my path. As wife and mother of two wonderful kids, I have learned to take into stride the joys and pains of nurturing my family with laughter and tears. From being a stay-at-home mom for a long time, I have now extended my arms into the community to envelope kids with special needs and work with them. My soul takes delight in creating pieces of art in the form of pottery, card-making, crafting, knitting, crocheting, and list goes on. My long-standing wish to learn pottery-making took form and I have made quite a few interesting projects and love them. I also do prophetic arts (painting) along with my husband at our church during worship now and then and enjoy it. I believe that most of my inspirations come for my Creator and I am just being instrumental in revealing it to others. I feel honored to be used as His anointed vessel to display the creativity He has invested in me.
This entry was posted in Bangalore, India, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

