Old Fashioned, Practical and Whimsical

There’s something about old-fashioned way of life that I harbor very close to my heart. May be through such things, I re-live the childhood days that were so easy-going, before the world turned to grow so complex at such a fast pace. Vacationing in Costa Rica, I felt a connection with the simple lifestyle around, probably taking me to those days back in time when I was little, and when life was laid back, carefree and sane.

This family owned snack shop near Arenal, Costa Rica reminded me of small Indian bakeries or petty shops, though a better version, to which I would run when I needed a snack or two.

Snack Shop

With these located near residences, there’s no need for driving around town to get a quick bite for unannounced visitors.

Talking about driving, one look at the traffic system in the Costa Rican towns, I would rather do my errands walking. I sense something crazy about the word ‘Hanging’ here. For, I have heard and seen ‘Hanging Bridges’ of Costa Rica in the forests, but wasn’t prepared for the sight of traffic lights hanging off cables on the streets. Though,  I love old-fashioned lifestyle but dangling traffic lights are something I never grew up with, nor do I wish for. Guess, the theme of ‘Hanging’ is carried too far in Costa Rica!

Hanging Traffic Lights

If I lived around here, and someone asked me for a local address, the landmark for my so-called map would be,  ‘The corner red building’. I am not aware if it is a house or an office? Whatever it is, something about its colors, the style and its location – off the corner of a slant street, caught my interest. This definitely would make a good landmark for someone trying to find their way around town.

That Red House

Local Church

Another local landmark would be if you ask me around this area, would be this humble church. Wonder how this quiet looking neighborhood would be on any given Sunday or on Christmas Eve?

How would life be for me and my family if we had to live in this green country setting with the snack shop close by, the red building downtown minus the hanging traffic lights? Would we gripe over the lack of high end technology or learn to enjoy life without it after years of being spoiled by it?…..I don’t really know!!!

About anointedartist

I am a free-spirited person who enjoys the little things in life as much as the big ones that cross my path. As wife and mother of two wonderful kids, I have learned to take into stride the joys and pains of nurturing my family with laughter and tears. From being a stay-at-home mom for a long time, I have now extended my arms into the community to envelope kids with special needs and work with them. My soul takes delight in creating pieces of art in the form of pottery, card-making, crafting, knitting, crocheting, and list goes on. My long-standing wish to learn pottery-making took form and I have made quite a few interesting projects and love them. I also do prophetic arts (painting) along with my husband at our church during worship now and then and enjoy it. I believe that most of my inspirations come for my Creator and I am just being instrumental in revealing it to others. I feel honored to be used as His anointed vessel to display the creativity He has invested in me.
This entry was posted in Costa Rica and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

