Fur and Feathers’ Reunion

Who knows what each day holds out for us…some days good, some days so, so, while some…. blah!

Today, was the one of the good days for my daughter and me. As we stepped out of the grocery store with a loaded cart, our  minds wondering where we parked our car, we heard loud bird chirping within a few feet. We stopped excitedly to look for some song bird in the nearby cement planter. As we moved closer, the chirping got louder and our excitement grew stronger. Suddenly we spotted a little grayish black furry, feathery ball, whose voice was louder than its size. My animal loving daughter right away realized it was a chick fallen from a nest somewhere, and impulsively yet delicately, picked up the poor thing like a little mother hen – so protective  was she, that I was having a hard time trying to get a good picture.

Cowbird ChickIn the midst of all this frenzy, we forgot all about our cart with a lot of frozen items especially boxes of ice-cream sitting in the sun. Oh well,isn’t life, be it big or small, more important than some ever available eats?

My daughter instinctively decided she needs to take it home to nurture the poor little chick, which I could not yet ponder on. And before we  knew, a loud flutter from the bush startled us, as Mother Bird swooped out of the thick bush which stood at our elbow’s reach. Luckily, instead of targeting us, she decided to perch nearby probably gauging the situation.

CowbirdLooking at the Momma Bird’s features, I think it is a cowbird, though I am not totally sure of it.

Then we heard some more chirping in the bush. We realized there should definitely be a nest hidden in that bush. We moved the branches aside when Momma Bird swooped close by, startling us again and moved to perch again on high to make sure we don’t hurt her baby.

What a nice sight awaited us, for there among the thick branches, was nestled a big, sturdy nest with one more visible chick, probably a little brother or a little sister. Very slowly and tenderly, my daughter placed the fallen birdie into the nest, reuniting it with its family.

Chick reunited with family (This picture was shot in a hurry for the safety of the birds, so excuse the quality of the image).

By this time, we were starting to attract attention of fellow shoppers and had to move away before getting good shots of the birdies in their nest. We had to let go of photo shooting, so the birdies and the nest stay undisturbed, hidden and safe from curious humans.

As we pushed our formerly abandoned grocery loaded cart, I suddenly remembered the saying by my mom that in the animal/bird world, parents abandon their little ones, if they smell the scent of human – so we are not to pick them up when we find them around. Though I vaguely recalled that this is a myth,  I mentioned the saying to my daughter who felt burdened with an unspeakable amount of guilt. We decided to go home and google about this which was a good thing for we were relieved to find out  that according to Frank B. Gill, former president of the American Ornithologists’ Union, this thing about human scent and parent birds abandoning their young ones is not true.

It’s so beautiful that small things in nature can spark a little joy in our hearts in the midst of our routine lives.  The touch and feel of that little birdie will be etched in my little daughter’s heart for a LONG time. And I am sure that together we will remember and recall this moment time and again during our mother-daughter chit-chats making our bonds stronger.

About anointedartist

I am a free-spirited person who enjoys the little things in life as much as the big ones that cross my path. As wife and mother of two wonderful kids, I have learned to take into stride the joys and pains of nurturing my family with laughter and tears. From being a stay-at-home mom for a long time, I have now extended my arms into the community to envelope kids with special needs and work with them. My soul takes delight in creating pieces of art in the form of pottery, card-making, crafting, knitting, crocheting, and list goes on. My long-standing wish to learn pottery-making took form and I have made quite a few interesting projects and love them. I also do prophetic arts (painting) along with my husband at our church during worship now and then and enjoy it. I believe that most of my inspirations come for my Creator and I am just being instrumental in revealing it to others. I feel honored to be used as His anointed vessel to display the creativity He has invested in me.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

