Reaching Out & Making a Difference

Every so often recently, the sight of a homeless person floods my thoughts with questions for which I cannot really find answers. This video that I coincidentally came upon, moved me deeply and send me reeling into another session of questioning and pondering about the basic rights and needs of mankind.  Is my inner spirit being stirred to a special calling to make a difference in this crazy world?

What are the core needs of every living thing? Obviously, it is food, water, and shelter. Animals have no issues with meeting these needs, then why is that mankind struggles to fulfill these needs? If the poverty stricken have three basic necessities, will contention make its way into their hearts? Or being human, will not one reach for more things and call that an essential and not a luxury?

If every one of us help a neighbor in dire needs, will not the world be a better place? Neighbor not necessarily meaning the person living next door, its the person that Jesus mentioned in His parable “The Good Samaritan”.

Watching the video above, there were lots of things that opened my mind and eyes and I am briefly writing my thoughts here:

Poor not by choice. So don’t go around judging people out there by their situation unless and until you really know about it.

Their actions don’t make them bad individuals, though not to be overlooked. Yes, every action needs to have its consequences, that’s the law of nature. People steal, do drugs and everything else that is not in the good books but look at it this way. They have the wrong influence and no mentor to guide them in the right direction. I am not going into killing and those sorts, but things that these unfortunate kids do to fill their growling tummies.

Poor doesn’t always equate to laziness though the opposite is more bound to happen. The kid in this documentary works for his meal in ways that he knows best – be it begging, using magnets to fish out coins from the stream or selling clothes that once belonged to the dead.

Emotions and characteristics belong to all classes of society. Every person has self respect, empathy, love and care, in their way special way, just like anyone else around. How would one explain that poor kid  shaving his little sister’s lice infected head and bringing home a meal for his alcoholic mother in the documentary?

My heart ached to see these kids lying in wait for the food offered in the funeral rites irrespective of the griping emotions that death brings. The urge to fulfill the basic need of mankind is stronger than the things of the heart to the one who is struggling to find a few morsels to kill the hunger pangs .

When someone begs for money because he/she is hungry, its natural to assume that the buck is definitely going for a bit of alcohol or pot. In all possibility, one may be absolutely right? But how about going to the nearest place and picking up a meal and making that’s person’s day? We may not be able to change their future but at least bring a little sunshine into their drab day.

Take a look around you, there is so much need, so much sadness, and a world crying out for love in action. What can you and I do to pop the bubble that we live in and make our world a better place?

About anointedartist

I am a free-spirited person who enjoys the little things in life as much as the big ones that cross my path. As wife and mother of two wonderful kids, I have learned to take into stride the joys and pains of nurturing my family with laughter and tears. From being a stay-at-home mom for a long time, I have now extended my arms into the community to envelope kids with special needs and work with them. My soul takes delight in creating pieces of art in the form of pottery, card-making, crafting, knitting, crocheting, and list goes on. My long-standing wish to learn pottery-making took form and I have made quite a few interesting projects and love them. I also do prophetic arts (painting) along with my husband at our church during worship now and then and enjoy it. I believe that most of my inspirations come for my Creator and I am just being instrumental in revealing it to others. I feel honored to be used as His anointed vessel to display the creativity He has invested in me.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

