Indo Broccoli Slaw Stir-fry

Broccoli_Slaw_SaladAfter years of trying to get my husband to eat veggies, I finally succeeded in finding the solution to one of my frustrations in the kitchen. Never giving up, I figured out that cooking veggies too much, ticked my man off, which is how we ate most vegetarian side dishes back home.

When I found this bag of Organic Broccoli Slaw at my local Trader Joe’s, which is nothing but a mixture of julienned broccoli stems and carrots, and
decided on  seasoning it with everyday Indian ingredients. The mustard seeds, curry leaves, red chilli pepper add flavor and color while the urad dhal gives a subtle crunch here and there. All of these ingredients can be bought at your local Indian grocery store.

Broccoli slaw ingredients

1 package  Broccoli Slaw (washed and dried)

1 tbsp.       canola oil

1/4 tsp.      mustard seeds

1/2 tsp.      urad dhal

1                 dry red chilli pepper, broken in half

1 sprig      curry leaves (washed)

To taste   salt

1/2           lime

Method: Heat oil in a pan on med. high heat. Add the mustard seeds and wait till it splutters.

Add urad dhal and when it turns golden, add the red chilli pepper and curry leaves and sauté till pepper turns darker in color. This process is called tempering or seasoning.

Add the broccoli slaw and sauté for 1 minute.

Then add salt and sauté till the broccoli slaw’s green deepens – approximately for 2-3 more minutes, making sure to not to cook too much.

Remove from stove, squeeze the lime over the salad and toss. Serve immediately.

Other veggies that can be cooked similarly are mung bean sprouts, which is available at oriental grocery stores, or a combination of zucchini and yellow squash. I like how the yellow squash with the green of the zucchini  creates a variation in color, making the dish more appetizing. My  kids have no problem eating these dishes, and my once veggie hating husband now enjoys the broccoli slaw cooked the Indian way.

About anointedartist

I am a free-spirited person who enjoys the little things in life as much as the big ones that cross my path. As wife and mother of two wonderful kids, I have learned to take into stride the joys and pains of nurturing my family with laughter and tears. From being a stay-at-home mom for a long time, I have now extended my arms into the community to envelope kids with special needs and work with them. My soul takes delight in creating pieces of art in the form of pottery, card-making, crafting, knitting, crocheting, and list goes on. My long-standing wish to learn pottery-making took form and I have made quite a few interesting projects and love them. I also do prophetic arts (painting) along with my husband at our church during worship now and then and enjoy it. I believe that most of my inspirations come for my Creator and I am just being instrumental in revealing it to others. I feel honored to be used as His anointed vessel to display the creativity He has invested in me.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Vegetarian Sides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

