Junkyard Treasures: One Man’s Junk is Another Man’s Treasure

Something about eras gone by, stirs both the conscious and the subconscious depths of mankind. Is it mystery of the past kindling one’s curiosity or the need to connect with times of old? Whatever the reason, I succumb to it, to learn, be inspired and sometimes restore things that are lost.

Who would imagine that junk cars from bygone times could inspire the art world? Not me, until one day, I had to venture into the junkyard to stimulate some creative juices to flow, so I could gcoral_caret my art assignment started. I will blog on that some time later, but for now I will continue to write about the beauty of old automobiles, some made more interesting by the natural elements in the environment.

It is interesting to find two people from different walks of life being drawn to the same thing for distinctively different reasons yet feel connected by that very thing. While my inspiration and curiosity about junkyard autos is for art, my friend’s husband, Donny, loves to restore these junkies and give them life again. I was amazed by the collection of such cars, waiting patiently in the wilderness, to get a lot of  TLC. The retro colors peeking from under Mother Nature’s aging elements seemed to be more of an art than anything. I couldn’t help running about in the slush and snow, to get some good pictures for future art projects.

rusty_green_pickup

I love the warm hue of the rust in combination with the military green, khaki, and the different shades of slate gray, on this manly looking auto above.

cream_red_tractor

Up on the mountains, amidst snow, sits this truck, body blushing from under the neutral colors, yet competing with the starkness of its shiny, black fender.

blueandrusty

The color palette above is quite interesting! The warm, earth tones of the truck  on the left, next to the clean, refreshing turquoise and off-white color combination of the truck to the right, is delightfully playful. Besides, the bulkiness of one complements the more refined look of the other.

glamper

This little auto sat alone away from the others. For some reason, looking at this van, I am reminded of a glamper, and am quite intrigued by it – would a gypsy use it, or would Rip Van Winkle and his dog have liked to use this one, to get away from his nagging wife. (Rip is a character from a short American story). Imagination is the limit for the tales of this van.

Being a person who cringed at grunge, rusty objects, auto parts, and the likes, I never thought that junkyard finds would ever inspire me someday to do anything.


Credits to Donny and Monica for letting me take pictures of their auto collection, and Katie Frank for inadvertently leaving a permanent inspiration in me with junkyard projects.

About anointedartist

I am a free-spirited person who enjoys the little things in life as much as the big ones that cross my path. As wife and mother of two wonderful kids, I have learned to take into stride the joys and pains of nurturing my family with laughter and tears. From being a stay-at-home mom for a long time, I have now extended my arms into the community to envelope kids with special needs and work with them. My soul takes delight in creating pieces of art in the form of pottery, card-making, crafting, knitting, crocheting, and list goes on. My long-standing wish to learn pottery-making took form and I have made quite a few interesting projects and love them. I also do prophetic arts (painting) along with my husband at our church during worship now and then and enjoy it. I believe that most of my inspirations come for my Creator and I am just being instrumental in revealing it to others. I feel honored to be used as His anointed vessel to display the creativity He has invested in me.
This entry was posted in Vintage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

